Ideal Health Organization (IHO) was founded in July 2021 as an independent Kenyan NGO led and staffed by dynamic Kenyan professionals who are known and valued partners by national and county governments, health workers, professional associations, union leaders, donors, and implementing partners. IHO embodies the legacy of investing in human resources for health and indigenous partner capacity in Kenya. Over the past 15 years, our leadership team has worked side-by-side with the Ministry of Health and international donors to establish the policies, management structures, and information platforms that form the bedrock of the nation’s health workforce system and health systems strengthening.

Our mission is to improve the delivery of essential healthcare services through better preparation, performance, and management of human resources and strengthened health systems.

IHO is led by Executive Director Dr. Janet Muriuki, a skilled manager, public health professional and medical doctor with more than 20 years of experience in health service delivery, health systems strengthening, and human resources for health in Kenya’s public, private, and faith-based sectors. After starting her career as a clinician, Dr. Muriuki has spent the last 16 years in senior roles leading donor-funded health development projects worth up to $53 million in Kenya.

IHO’s Finance and Administration Manager is Emmanuel Munyasia, an experienced finance and administration professional with more than 11 years of comprehensive financial, operational, human resources, and business development experience for large donor-funded projects, valued up to $27 million. This includes establishing robust accounting and financial systems, developing compliance and regulatory mechanisms, and supervising operations staff in the HR, logistics, contracts and grants, and finance functions.

Board of Directors

IHO is supported by its engaged and committed Board of Directors, a group of professionals well known nationally, regionally, and globally.

  • Pauline Muhuhu, Chairperson
  • Dr. Mildred Mudany, Secretary
  • Hesbon Omollo, FCPA, Treasurer
  • Dr. Khadija Shikely, Member
  • Dr. Simon Kibias, Member
  • Polly Dunford, Member
  • Maqsoda Maqsodi, Member